You are here


CLARIN ("Common Language Resources and Technology Infrastructure") is a research infrastructure initiated from the vision that all digital language resources and tools from all over Europe and beyond are accessible through a single sign-on online environment for the support of researchers in the humanities and social sciences.

Organisational overview

The organigram below clarifies the relations between the different bodies that play a role in CLARIN (ERIC).

  • The highest decision taking body in CLARIN ERIC is the General Assembly (GA), consisting of representatives from the ministries of the member countries. It is assisted by an international  Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), arrow 1.
  • The day-to-day management is in the hands of the Board of Directors (BoD) which receives their guidelines from the GA, as well as input from other committees (arrow 4, 6 and 7), and reports to the GA. 
    • In their work, the BoD is supported by the CLARIN Office, based at the Faculty of Humanities of Utrecht University in the Netherlands. 
    • The BoD can create Thematic Committees (called working groups in the statutes) and provide them with terms of reference. The thematic committees help implementing the strategies and they report to the BoD.
  • CLARIN’s infrastructure operations are run and financed by the member countries. Each member country is committed to setting up and funding a national CLARIN consortium, which may consist of various types of centres. (See the list of the National Consortia). The National Coordinators' Forum, consisting of the heads of the national consortia, and the Standing Committee for CLARIN Technical Centres, consisting of the heads of the main centres, are the CLARIN ERIC bodies through which the cross-centre and the cross-country integration and interoperability of the components of the infrastructure is ensured. 
    • Each national coordinator is responsible for his/her country to follow the GA’s policies and strategies. The National Coordinators’ Forum (NCF) is responsible for ensuring the coordination of the implementation of the GA’s policies and strategies. Arrow 4 is bidirectional: Instructions from the GA go through the BoD to the NCF, and the NCF reports to the BoD. The NCF also provides an ex officio director.
    • The Standing Committee for CLARIN Technical centres has responsibility for ensuring consistence, coherence and stability of infrastructure services. It reports to the NCF (and to the BoD through arrow 7), and consists of centre representatives from the member countries. It reports to the BoD (and to the NCF through arrow 5). Arrow 7 is bidirectional: Instructions from the GA go through the BoD to the SCCTC, and the SCCTC reports to the BoD. The SCCTC also provides an ex officio director.
  • Overall, various committees and working groups, as well as regular workshops and conferences bring together experts from the CLARIN community to discuss and solve problems of common interest.



​The Statutes of CLARIN ERIC describe all governance aspects in full detail.