New Chair of Standing Committee for CLARIN Technical Centres

Submitted by Linda Stokman on 21 April 2020

We are pleased to announce that, as of April 2020, Martin Matthiesen has been elected chair of the Standing Committee for CLARIN Technical Centres (SCCTC). He is taking over from Dieter Van Uytvanck, CLARIN 's Technical Director, who chaired the committee since its establishment in 2012. 

Originally from Northern Frisia, Germany, Martin has studied computational linguistics at Bielefeld University. After his studies, family ties and the possibility to actually work as a computational linguist in the private sector made him move in 1999 to Helsinki/Finland. Before joining CSC - IT Center for Science in 2012, while still working for a language technology company, he gradually moved away from computational linguistics into the area of systems administration. Presently, he is responsible for the technical backbone of the Language Bank of Finland, FIN-CLARIN's main service for researchers, hosted at CSC. Martin has been a member of the since 2013 and has been active in promoting cross-border login interoperability by chairing the task force and is also interested in development. He still lives near Helsinki and likes traveling with his family, especially by train. Time permitting he likes tinkering with things, be it Linux or bicycles.