Participating Consortia

The majority of operations, services and centres of the CLARIN infrastructure is provided and funded by CLARIN members (and observers). Members and observers can be countries or intergovernmental organisations. They set up a national consortium, typically consisting of universities, research institutions, libraries and public archives, of which at least one has the status of CLARIN centre (see overview of CLARIN centres). The contribution expected from members and observers is to create and provide access to digital language data collections, and digital tools and expertise for researchers to work with them.

In cases where CLARIN ERIC deems it beneficial, it may enter into agreement with third parties, such as individual institutions, regions and countries outside the EU. Third parties contribute to CLARIN ERIC by providing expertise, services, language resources and/or technology. 

The same criteria for data and services interoperability, access conditions, quality of data and services are adhered to by all consortia and third parties. Interoperability is ensured through the standards adopted in the CLARIN framework. The access provided to data and content is in principle sustainable and in accordance with the principles of open science. Members and observers have a large degree of freedom to decide what they contribute to the CLARIN infrastructure. 

Below you will find the list of current CLARIN ERIC members, observers and third parties, with the URLs of their national consortia (if available). The national coordinators meet regularly in the National Coordinators' Forum. Each member country is also represented by a delegate in the General Assembly of CLARIN ERIC.

Members National Consortium (NC) Leading NC Partner National Coordinator
Austria CLARIAH-AT ACDH-CH Karlheinz Mörth
Belgium CLARIN BE Instituut voor de Nederlandse Taal (INT) Vincent Vandeghinste
Bulgaria CLaDA-BG Bulgarian Academy of Sciences Kiril Simov
Croatia HR-CLARIN University of Zagreb Marko Tadić
Cyprus CLARIN-CY Digital Heritage Research Lab (Cyprus University of Technology) Marinos Ioannides
Czech Republic LINDAT/CLARIAH-CZ Charles University Prague Eva Hajičová
Denmark CLARIN-DK University of Copenhagen Costanza Navarretta
Estonia CLARIN Estonia Center of Estonian Language Resources Kadri Vider
Finland FIN-CLARIN University of Helsinki Krister Lindén
Germany CLARIN-D University of Tuebingen Erhard Hinrichs
Greece clarin:el ILSP-ATHENA Research Center Stelios Piperidis
Hungary HunCLARIN Research Institute for Linguistics, Hungarian Academy of Sciences Tamás Váradi
Iceland CLARIN Iceland The Árni Magnússon Institute for Icelandic Studies Starkaður Barkarson
Italy CLARIN-IT Institute for Computational Linguistics A. Zampolli, Italian National Research Council Monica Monachini
Latvia CLARIN-LV Institute of Mathematics and Computer Science, University of Latvia Inguna Skadiņa
Lithuania CLARIN-LT Vytautas Magnus University Jurgita Vaičenonienė
The Netherlands CLARIAH-NL Utrecht University Jan Odijk
Norway CLARINO University of Bergen Koenraad De Smedt
Poland CLARIN PL Wroclaw University of Technology Maciej Piasecki
Portugal PORTULAN CLARIN University of Lisbon António Branco
Slovenia CLARIN.SI Jožef Stefan Institute Tomaž Erjavec
Sweden SWE-CLARIN Språkbanken Lars Borin
Observer National Consortium (NC) Leading Partner NC National Coordinator
France Huma-Num the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) Nicolas Larrousse
South Africa SADiLaR North-West University Langa Khumalo
United Kingdom CLARIN-UK Oxford University Martin Wynne
Third Party National Consortium (NC) Leading Partner NC Coordinator
Carnegie Mellon University (USA) TalkBank Carnegie Mellon University (USA) Brian MacWhinney