The Steven Krauwer Awards, named in honour of Steven Krauwer (first executive director of CLARIN ), are given annually to outstanding scientists or engineers in recognition of major contributions toward CLARIN goals in the areas of language resource building, tool or service development, exemplary use cases, user involvement or knowledge sharing. Read more.

Overview of Winners

2020 |¬†2019 |¬†2018|¬†2017‚Ä謆|¬†2016‚Äč|¬†2015‚Ä謆|¬†2014

2020 Winners


Francesca Frontini has been particularly active in spreading the CLARIN word and helping CLARIN grow. She participated in the preparatory phase of CLARIN-IT and has been active in various CLARIN committees and task forces. 

Read more



Tomasz Walkowiak has become one of the main designers of the concept and architecture of the CLARIN-PL Language Technology Centre. With his knowledge and experience in the field of NLP and software engineering he has been very prominently involved into the Polish in kind contribution to CLARIN ERIC.

Read more



2019 winners

Jakob has been extremely active in several fundamental CLARIN outreach activities. His contributions have helped increase the visibility of the national consortia and the available language resources in the CLARIN Infrastructure through his work on the CLARIN Resource Families campaign.

Read more



CLARIN has benefitted exceptionally from Menzo’s contributions. He has made outstanding contributions toward CLARIN goals in the areas of language resource building, tool or service development, exemplary use cases, user involvement and knowledge sharing.

Read more


2018 winners


The 2018 Steven Krauwer Award for CLARIN Achievements was awarded to Daan Broeder (Meertens Institute, KNAW)). Daan brought his rich knowledge and expertise into CLARIN from the very start. He was involved in a range of national and international projects and activities that are highly relevant to CLARIN, both on a technical and non-technical level. 

Read more

Watch the interview


The 2018¬†Steven Krauwer Award¬†for CLARIN Achievements¬†was¬†awarded to ¬†Pavel StraŇą√°k¬†(Charles University).¬†Pavel has been working actively at CLARIN in Czech Republic and CLARIN¬†ERIC¬†and is one of the most active people in the CLARIN community. He is specialized in the area of mathematical linguistics and has brought prominent contributions to CLARIN both locally and internationally.¬†

Read more

Watch the interview


2017 winner

The 2017 Steven Krauwer Award for CLARIN Achievements was awarded to Paul Meurer (Uni Research Computing, Norway). Paul is both an accomplished researcher in computational linguistics and an innovative designer and programmer of online systems. In his work for CLARINO, he has developed a whole range of advanced tools and resources which are useful for the entire CLARIN community and beyond, an impressive accomplishment for one person. Read more

2016 winner

The 2016 Steven Krauwer Award for Young Scientists was awarded to Liesbeth Augustinus (KU Leuven) for her outstanding work on making example-based treebank search in multiple languages available to linguists and other humanities scholars, for promoting this approach and training intended users, and for applying the relevant applications in her own research. Read more

2015 winner

The 2015 CLARIN¬†Young Scientist Award¬†was¬†awarded to¬†Maarten van Gompel¬†of the Radboud University Nijmegen for his groundbreaking work on FoLiA and CLAM. The award ceremony took place at the annual CLARIN Conference, held this year in WrocŇāaw, Poland.¬†Read more

2014 winner

The 2014 CLARIN Young Scientist Award was awarded to¬†Matej ńéurńćo, (Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities), for his achievements in the build-up of CLARIN. Since 2009, he has been part of the Austrian research infrastructures core group, contributing substantially to the development of key technical components such as the Component Metadata Infrastructure ( ), the Federated Content Search ( ) and the Vocabulary Repository, both at the local and the European levels.